Wedding – pre-events – Rehearsal

Though initially a joke, we decided to do the rehearsal at Toby Keith’s I Love this Bar and Grill in Bricktown.  While I know this sounds ridiculous, it’s close to our wedding cite in the gardens and they have something for everyone.

Before the dinner, Lisa and I met our officiant – Reverend Lofton.  She was a wonderfully nice and funny lady and I think we both felt that we had made the right choice.  After talking to her for about 30 minutes, the three of us walked over to the gardens for a walk through.  The wedding party met us over there as did the musicians, and we walked quickly through the ceremony twice.

After that, everyone packed up and went over to Toby Keith’s.  We had a nice long dinner with tons of food and appetizers and gave gifts to Zach, Sam, Kate, and Tracy.

Maybe the best part of the night were the speeches that the dads made.  Bob’s was based around the central metaphor of child birth and our 9 month engagement.   While the women mostly shook their heads, I liked his point that he now knew something of the pain of child birthing having produced the wedding.  My dad’s speech was based on our agreement when I was a kid that I would wait till I was in my late 20’s to get married and 30 to have kids.  My grandfather was 30 when he had his first kid – my dad – and dad was 30 when he had me.  When I came to my dad at 23 and said I wanted to get married he was understandably surprised, but I told him that I had found the right one.  It was a nice punchline and Lisa even cried a bit so it all went well.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment